W Series confirms 2019 driver line-up

After a four-day test in Almeria, Spain, the W Series has chosen their final 18 drivers to race in the inaugural year of the series.

In addition, they have selected four reserve drivers for their history-making all-female single-seater championship.

By the morning of the last day of testing Dave Ryan – their Racing Director – had decided that 12 drivers were able to be selected at that stage. They were notified by W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir of the good news.

The rest of the hopefuls were able to head back out on track in the W Series Tatuus F-318 Formula 3 car for extra running and the final six places were announced by David Coulthard .

All five British finalists have made the grid, and they will be joined by ladies from a further 12 nationalities.

Credit: W Series

“To those drivers who didn’t make it through, I offer my commiserations, of course, but I also say ‘well done’,” said Catherine Bond Muir. “All our drivers worked diligently, studied hard, and drove well, including those who didn’t make it through.
“To the 18 drivers who did make it through, I say ‘big congrats and very well done’.
“But I also want to mention our four reserve drivers, who didn’t quite make the final 18 but all impressed our judges. They’ll be disappointed, inevitably, but they’re still part of the W Series family.
“So that’s it then. Our driver selection programme is complete. Let’s go racing!”

The 2019 W Series drivers

Jamie Chadwick, UK 
Sabre Cook, USA
Marta Garcia, Spain
Megan Gilkes, Canada
Esmee Hawkey, UK
Jessica Hawkins, UK 
Shea Holbrook, USA
Emma Kimilainen, Finland
Miki Koyama, Japan
Sarah Moore, UK
Tasmin Pepper, South Africa
Vicky Piria, Italy
Alice Powell, UK
Gosia Rdest, Poland 
Naomi Schiff, Belgium 
Beitske Visser, Netherlands
Fabienne Wohlwend, Liechtenstein
Caitlin Wood, Australia 
The reserve drivers:
Sarah Bovy, Belgium
Vivien Keszthelyi, Hungary
Stephane Kox, Netherlands
Francesca Linossi, Italy 

The grid will head to Germany next month for a three-day test before the first race in May.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.