Girls like motorsport too, you know?

Girls like motorsport too, you know.

I, for one, am growing tired of the petty little comments about being a female and liking racing.

It does not make me special, it does not make me any different to any other fan of speed.

Whilst we still may be the minority gender when it comes to motorsport, it does not require endless sexist comments and inappropriate remarks.

I’m not trying to play the victim here, I am just trying to be real.

img_2928
The horror when I opened this, from an official Formula 1 team’s Snapchat.

 

The raw speed, the aggression, the split second decisions – racing is my life. But hold up, I am a girl. I can’t like racing. I shouldn’t like racing. Racing is for men.

Why are we being shamed for our passion?

If I want to wear race gear, I will wear race gear. Like any other fan, I support teams, I like to wear and own merchandise. It is not attention seeking, it is simply expressing that I like racing. I will don on a Red Bull polo for me, and me only, to show my support. So I shall wear my merchandise proud, without replying to the comments. I don’t want to be told to take my bra off and I certainly will not go to bed with you.

It is not attention seeking, it is simply expressing that I like racing. I will don on a Red Bull polo for me, and me only, to show my support. So I shall wear my merchandise proud, without replying to the comments. I don’t want to be told to take my bra off and I certainly will not go to bed with you.

The derogatory comments are another thing. Through different publications, I’ve been named, by professional and respected journalists, everything from ‘that bitch’ to ‘hoe’ and ‘slag’. It’s not nice, not pleasant, and it is happening time and time again to females in the racing community and not just from those employed in the sport. It is an endless tiresome cycle which seems to be getting worse.

I really do struggle to apprehend the fascination and the surprise people have with ladies liking racing. It’s no different to men liking cooking. That is accepted, so why can’t this be?

It’s the 21st Century. Girls like cars. Deal with it.

Helena 🙂 xx

 

7 thoughts on “Girls like motorsport too, you know?

  1. Next Blog Idea: Lady racing driver = blood boils. Special lady racing trophies? Seriously? Once the racing helmet is on, they are a racing driver same as the other people surrounding them on the grid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is a ridiculous situation when a segment of the fanbase is assumed to be there just for the clichéd courting. The quoted message would have been ill-advised even if the preceding message had been overtly romantic – as one article on foreign stock phrases I’ve sadly forgotten the name of said, had it occurred in real life, a realistic descriptor of events would have been “Voulez-vous coucher a-“*thump from offended no-longer-if-ever-had-been love interest*

    For it to happen just because the recipient is a F1 fan is just plain disgusting. Yes, people who make such blunders (who sadly aren’t likely to read this blog), passion for motorsport does not equate to passion for cheap japes playing on the supposed virility of the one making what is patently a fake offer meant, at best, to tease and more likely, to annoy…

    Like

Leave a Reply

